The Starlost

The Starlost is a Canadian-produced science fiction television series devised by writer Harlan Ellison and broadcast in 1973 on CTV in Canada and syndicated to local stations in the United States. The show's setting is a huge generational colony spacecraft called The Ark, which has gone off-course. Many of the descendants of the original crew and colonists are unaware, however, that they are aboard a ship. The series experienced a number of production difficulties, and Ellison ended up disowning it before the first episode even aired.




Discovering that the destruction of the Earth will happen in the future, humanity builds a multi-generational starship called "The ARK" which was around 80 kilometres (50 mi) wide and 320 kilometres (200 mi) long. The ship contains dozens of isolated biospheres, each kilometres across and housing people of different cultures. Early in the voyage an unexplained disaster struck with the ARK suffering damage and the command crew killed. The ARK had some kind of automatic damage control and disaster systems which sealed off each biosphere and kept the inhabitants alive, even though the command crew had died off.


On March 31, 1974, Ellison received a Writers Guild of America Award  for Best Original Screenplay for the original script (the pilot script as originally written, not the version that was filmed). A novelization of this script by Edward Bryant, Phoenix Without Ashes, was published in 1975; this contained a lengthy foreword by Ellison describing what had gone on in production. In 2010 the novel was adapted in comic book form by IDW Publishing.


All 16 episodes were at one time available in a VHS boxed set. The first DVD release was limited to the five feature-length edited versions. In Fall 2008 the full series was released on DVD by VCI Entertainment.  Episodes are digitally remastered. 

The Starlost - Original TV opening

The Starlost - Episode Guide

The Starlost DVD Release

Season 1 [Complete Series]


1.01  Voyage of Discovery

1.02  Lazarus From the Mist

1.03  The Goddess Calabra

1.04  The Pisces

1.05  Children of Methuselah

1.06  And Only Man is Vile

1.07  Circuit of Death...

1.08  Gallery of Fear

1.09  Mr. Smith of Manchester

1.10  The Alien Oro

1.11  The Astro Medics

1.12  The Implant People

1.13  The Return of Oro

1.14  Farthing's Comet

1.15  Beehive

1.16  Space Precinct

Write a comment

Comments: 0
Visit our sci-fi blog
Babylon 5 s1 re-watch
Ghost in the Shell - poster of the week
Life - trailer 2
Original Picture from IOV
Blog - Space above and beyond re-watch

Online since April 11, 2011